How to end sessions in Citrix Xenapp

Article from Citrix.com  http://support.citrix.com/proddocs/topic/xenapp6-w2k8-admin/ps-sessions-managing-v2.html

 

11-18-2011_8-35-32_AM.png

 

dropdown_menu_citrix.png

Disconnecting and Resetting Sessions

A disconnected session is still active and its applications continue to run, but the client device is no longer communicating with the server. A user can reconnect to a disconnected session from a different client device without loss of data. For example, you might disconnect users’ sessions if they experience problems on their client device and do not want to lose data from their applications.

When you disconnect a session, you close the connection between the client device and the server. However, this does not log off the user, and programs that were running in the session are still running on the server. (Some applications that rely on virtual channels, such as media players, may behave differently. For example, if you disconnect from a session running Media Player while playing audio, the audio stops playing because the audio virtual channel is no longer available.) When a session is disconnected, session state displays indicate Disconnected. If the client user then connects to the server (by selecting a published application or custom connection to the server), the disconnected session is reconnected.

You can log off users from their sessions. You can also reset a user’s client session or a disconnected session.

You can also connect to a user’s disconnected session when you are using the console from within a client session on a XenApp server. To connect, you must know the password of the user who started the session. Your session must support the same video resolution as the disconnected session.

Resetting a session terminates all processes that are running in that session. You can reset a session to remove remaining processes in the case of a session error; however, resetting a session can cause applications to close without saving data.

When you reset a disconnected session, session state displays indicate Down. When you refresh the console display or when the next automatic refresh occurs, the session no longer appears in the list of sessions.

Special sessions that listen for requests to connect to the server indicate Listening in session state displays. If you reset a listener session, the server resets all sessions that use the protocol associated with the listener. For example, if you reset the ICA listener session, you reset the ICA sessions of all users connected to the server.

To use session controls

From the Delivery Services Console:
  • To reset a session:
    Caution: Resetting effectively deletes the session and results in loss of data for the user. Only reset a session when it malfunctions or is not responding.
    1. Select the server to which the user is connected.
    2. In the results pane, click the Sessions tab.
    3. Select the session you want to reset. (You can select one or more sessions.)
    4. In the Actions pane, select Reset.
  • To disconnect a session:
    1. Select the server to which the user is connected.
    2. In the results pane, click the Sessions tab.
    3. Select the session you want to reset. (You can select one or more sessions.)
    4. In the Actions pane, select Disconnect.
  • To logoff from a session:
    Caution: Ending user sessions using Logoff can result in loss of data if users do not close their applications first. Before initiating the logoff, send a message to warn users to exit all applications.
    1. Select the server to which the user is connected.
    2. In the results pane, click the Sessions tab.
    3. Select the session you want to log off. (You can select one or more sessions.)
    4. In the Actions pane, select Log off. Confirm the logoff when prompted.
  • To terminate processes in a user session:
    Caution: Terminating a process may abruptly end a critical process and leave the server in an unusable state.
    1. Select the server to which the user is connected.
    2. In the results pane, click the Users tab and select the session for which you want to terminate a process.
    3. In the lower portion of the results pane, click the Processes tab and select the process you want to terminate.
    4. In the Actions pane, select Terminate.

To send a message to one or more users from the Delivery Services Console

Sending a message that appears in user sessions can be helpful in situations such as broadcasting information about new applications and upgrades, requesting a shadowing session, or warning of a logoff or system shutdown.

  1. From the Delivery Services Console, select the server to which the users are connected. To send a message to all user sessions in the farm, select a farm node instead of a server.
  2. In the results pane, click the Users tab and select one or more sessions.
  3. In the Actions pane, select Send Message. The Send Message dialog box appears.
  4. Edit the title of the message, if required, and enter the message text.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk