Edit a contact's information, such as work and home email addresses

Editing contacts

To edit or delete a contact, open your Contacts list by clicking Mail on the left side of the page, then choosing Contacts. Or, if you if you want to make changes to your Google Account's contacts without loading Gmail, you can use the standalone Contact Manager athttps://www.google.com/contacts.

To edit a contact

  1. Find and click the name of the contact in the Contacts list.
  2. Make any changes you’d like to make. Exit the editing field to save automatically or clickSave now in the upper right hand corner.

To add a contact to a contact group:

  1. Select the contact in the Contacts list.
  2. Click the Groups button. 
  3. Select the group you'd like to add the contact to, or select Create new to create a new group.

To remove a contact from a contact group:

  1. Select the contact in the Contacts list.
  2. Click the Groups button.
  3. Select the group you'd like to remove the contact from (boxes will be checked next to the groups that contact is already in).

To delete a contact:

  1. Select the contact in the Contacts list.
  2. Click More, then click Delete contact.
  3. If you change your mind or mistakenly delete a contact, you'll be able to recover deleted contacts for 30 days. But 30 days after you delete a contact, it will be removed permanently.

 

Note: These instructions work only with the standard version of Gmail. If they don't match what you see in your Contact Manager, we suggest that you upgrade to a fully supported browser or click standard version in your account.

Reference Editing Contacts

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk